Team

Staff

Gisela Valle – Director
gisela@lawrs.org.uk

Jhoanna Mosquera – Operations & Development Manager
jhoanna@lawrs.org.uk

Priscila Brandão – Administrator & Finance Officer
admin@lawrs.org.uk

Amanda Odelius – Administrator & Finance Officer
admin@lawrs.org.uk

Elizabeth Jiménez – Policy and Communications Coordinator – VAWG
elizabeth@lawrs.org.uk

Dolores Modern – Policy and Communications Coordinator – Employment Rights
dolores@lawrs.org.uk

Noel Genne – Outreach & Development Coordinator
noel@lawrs.org.uk

Tamya Bustamante – No Limits Project Coordinator
tamya@lawrs.org.uk

Marcela Benedetti – Training and Development Officer – VAWG
marcela@lawrs.org.uk

Myriam Bell – Violence Against Women Senior Caseworker
myriam@lawrs.org.uk

Giorgina Mendez – VAWG Outreach & Prevention Coordinator (Portuguese speaker) & Drop in Adviser
giorgina@lawrs.org.uk

Eliana Riccardi – VAWG Advice Manager
eliana@lawrs.org.uk

Maria Jose Belen – Counselling & Psychotherapy Team Manager
counselling@lawrs.org.uk

Nahir Josefina Alemán Hernández – Counselling & Psychotherapy Team Manager
counselling@lawrs.org.uk

Silvia Córdoba – VAWG Advocacy & Prevention Coordinator
silvia@lawrs.org.uk

Silvia Córdoba – Counsellor & Psychotherapist (Spanish speaker)
silviaanahi@lawrs.org.uk

Marina Paes – Counsellor & Psychotherapist (Portuguese speaker)
marinapaes@lawrs.org.uk

Gloribely González – Counsellor & Psychotherapist (Spanish speaker)
gloribely@lawrs.org.uk

Francisca Saavedra – Girls and Young Women Counsellor & Psychotherapist (Spanish Speaker)
francisca@lawrs.org.uk

Nunkui Baldajos – Advice Manager
nunkui@lawrs.org.uk

Katia Brassea – Drop in Adviser
katia@lawrs.org.uk

Gladys Medina – Immigration Adviser & Employment Rights Drop in Adviser
gladys@lawrs.org.uk

Ornella Ospino – Community Activist Coordinator
ornella@lawrs.org.uk

Betsy Terrones – Integration & Volunteer Coordinator
volunteers@lawrs.org.uk

Priscila Brandão – Crèche Coordinator
priscila@lawrs.org.uk

Patricia Pons – Bookkeeper
patricia@lawrs.org.uk

 

Governance

Company registration and accounts

The Latin American Women’s Rights Service (LAWRS) is a charitable company incorporated on 15th December 1997 and registered as a charity on 19th April 1999. The company was established under a Memorandum of Association, which sets out its objects and powers, and is governed under its Articles of Association.

Find our latest annual report and accounts here.

 

Board of Trustees

Helen Aviles – Chair

Vanessa Gabriel-Robinson – Vice-Chair

Laura Somoggi – Trustee

Floralba Hague – Trustee

Marina Comandulli – Trustee

Sofia Collignon – Trustee

LAWRS’ board of trustees is currently formed of Latin American women with a variety of skills sharing a feminist perspective.

The Board is responsible for overall governance, determining LAWRS’ strategic direction, maintaining a long-term overview of the organization and ensuring LAWRS’ financial health and compliance with legal obligations. The Board currently meets every six weeks. All LAWRS trustees are directly elected from the membership.

 

Strategic aims

Four strategic aims will determine our programmes of work over the next five years, and we will judge our success against them:

To continue providing immediate support to Latin American women facing or at risk of, violence and poverty.

To develop or implement new, more sustainable ways of addressing immediate and long term needs of Latin American women, including putting in motion initiatives to underpin LAWRS’ longer term sustainability.

To continue working towards visibility and recognition for the Latin American community.

To influence policy and practice that affects Latin American women, addressing the key barriers identified by the No Longer Invisible research.